JM Innovations

Minnesota Ag News Headlines
Minnesota Farm Bureau Annual Meeting Recapped
Minnesota Ag Connection - 11/23/2022

The Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation (MFBF) hosted its 104th Annual Meeting at the DoubleTree Hotel in Bloomington.

The MFBF Annual Meeting brings together the organization's grassroots membership to surface and discuss issues facing agriculture, along with general organization updates, educational opportunities and networking.

Vice President Carolyn Olson of Cottonwood was re-elected to a two-year term. Also re-elected to the board for three-year terms were Bob Roelofs of Garden City (District II) and Fran Miron of Hugo (District V). Newly elected members to the board serving one-year terms were Cindy Durheim of Askov as the Promotion & Education Chair and Katie Wiese of Pequot Lakes as the Young Farmers & Ranchers Chair.

Several Young Farmers & Ranchers competitions were held, including the Excellence in Agriculture contest, Achievement Award, and Discussion Meet. The winners of each competition will represent Minnesota at the American Farm Bureau Annual Meeting in Puerto Rico in January.

Winning the Excellence in Agriculture competition was Kristy Miron of Hugo. The award recognizes individuals on their involvement in agriculture, leadership ability, and involvement and participation in Farm Bureau and other organizations.

Winning the Achievement Award was Staci Sexton of Goodhue County. The award recognizes individuals on a combination of their farming operation growth and financial progress of operation, Farm Bureau leadership, as well as leadership outside of Farm Bureau.

Winning the Discussion Meet was Jeff Pagel of Olmsted County. The contest is designed to simulate a committee meeting where discussion and active participation are expected from each participant. Individuals are evaluated on an exchange of ideas and information on a pre-determined topic, with the top contestant offering cooperation and communication while analyzing agricultural problems and developing solutions.

Six students were the recipients of scholarships through the Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation. Recipients of the Al Christopherson Scholarship include Jaylynn Frandrup of Hastings, Ross Herber of Utica, Maggie Molitor of St. Cloud and Zoey Schentzel of Farmington. Recipients of the Paul Stark Memorial Scholarship include Mackenzie Kuschel of Sebeka and Megan Ratka of Cold Spring.

Former MFBF President Kevin Paap of Garden City received the Distinguished Service to Agriculture award, and three couples were recognized as Honorary Life Members:

- Ron and Barbara Kuechle, Watkins

- John and Harriet McPherson, Carlos

- Bennett and Gloria Osmonson, Gully

Mike Sheely of Mapleton and teacher at Maple River Public Schools was named the FFA Advisor of the Year.

Pam Uhlenkamp of Green Isle and instructor at South Central College as recognized as the Post-Secondary Agriculture Educator of the Year.

Seventeen counties received the Premier County Farm Bureau Award, recognizing the top member counties for their outreach efforts in five key areas. Additionally, 50 counties were recognized for their outreach efforts.

Producers Club members, in addition to Farm Bureau Financial Services Membership Recruiters and Agency awards were also recognized.

Other Minnesota Headlines
Zabel Equipment
Copyright © 2023 - All Rights Reserved.